top of page

A Little 

SPICE

  • Writer's pictureVelvet Spice

Queen of Tarts


I’ve always thought that the only way to properly enjoy a new city is to discover the best parts yourself.

I was luckily proven wrong.

On my recent visit to Ireland I spent most of my time in Dublin. And while I did find several amazing places by myself, the truly outstanding ones were recommendations from friends and family.

Queen of Tarts was by far one of the best recommendations I’ve ever had.

And on that particular day, after a particularly catastrophic attempt at a musical bar crawl and some horrific encounters with Irish whiskey the night before, it was a most welcome breakfast.

Mouthwatering selection of cakes, tarts and pies first thing in the morning...

As a general rule, if a menu spoils me for choice and I take a while to choose a dish, its a place worth eating at. I studied the menu for… more than a while.

Long enough that I had to turn the waitress away 3 times before ordering.

Maybe I’m just picky.

Either way, I had chosen well.


The food announced itself before it was even on the table. I was hit with the sweet, nutty smell as the waitress approached with my warm pastry.

Chocolate, Pear and Almond Cake...

I have never been happier to see a pie in my life.


And I eat a lot of pie.

Couple it with my berry tea and my friend's carrot cake - what a breakfast indeed...

It's the sort of restaurant that doesn't need explanation.

The cakes and tarts are beautiful and their flavours are well thought-out. The cosy little corner of Dublin is definitely worth a visit for a morning meal or even just a cheeky sweet slice of something during the day.

It made for a cosy shelter from the Irish weather and a great way to spend a lazy morning.

And next time, I'll be sure to get there earlier and try the savoury breakfast menu...

... as well as some more cakes and tarts.


6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page